[ROYALINE’s] SharePoint Dynamics

SharePoint Development & Techniques

Archive for August 12th, 2011

How to add a new item to a SharePoint list using Javascript and the Lists.asmx web service

Posted by Freelance-Puma on August 12, 2011


I had a brilliant idea at the beginning of the year. I am the Site Collection Administrator and am only responsible for administering and developing solutions for my SharePoint site collection in my office (about 2000 employees). I do not have access to the SharePoint servers to install WSP’s, use STSADM, or even PowerShell.

I am in charge of all development for my Site Collection but getting a custom SharePoint web part or WSP solution into production takes weeks….and sometimes months. So, i began working with the Content Editor Web Parts (CEWP’s) to see if I can use the SharePoint Web Services and Javascript as a “Poor man’s” web part. My “Poor man’s” web parts are only CEWP’s which don’t have to go thru a special code review and approval process before being moved into the production SharePoint farm.

If you are under these same kind of restrictions, maybe you’d like to consider this approach as well. However, this isn’t the best approach in that things can ‘break’ easily if someone modifies your code in the CEWP’s.
Read the rest of this entry »

Posted in CEWP, Javascript, Lists.asmx, SharePoint, SharePoint 2007, SharePoint Hacks, Site Collection, Web Services, XML | 2 Comments »